Giving Thanks, Making it a Practice

            Even though I learned about Gratitude and practiced all my life, but the logic didn’t really hit me completely until I went through my own journey in the year 2009. This journey made me connect all the dots together. It was a time where I was being examined to what I learned to grow up and giving my answers.

            The day I turned around from self-pity to self-acceptance and prayed simple word “thank you” to God, my life got better. The day that my husband said, “You are not as bad as you are imagining in your head, you are alive and celebrate it!” changed my life DOWNSIDE UP. Yes, at that time it did hurt me deep down that he did hurt me saying that, but after few days I realised it’s okay if I can’t get out of bed until an hour struggling and feed my kids but I am ALIVE. I am alive to see them smiling and started asking for help from the universe. I stopped moaning about my ill health rather saw the blessings of having two wonderful kids around me and a helping and caring husband. What else did I want in that self-acceptance moments? I was being accepted by my family more easily than my own self-acceptance to who I am. I re-created my own self, where years ago I couldn’t accept my own self and hurt myself physically and emotionally all my life.

                        Acknowledge all that has happened and will happen in the future. There is nothing that is not part of the game of life. Maybe at the time of a given situation it may not make sense but remember it was the part of the game to succeed in your life. This to me is to me the basic spiritual law of existence. We can only look for tomorrow when we have a ray of hope.

            When you look at life as a game, every move you take either you win or lose or play again. You can replay your failures to learn the mistakes and not to repeat them when you play again. This helps you to learn about the obstacles and overcome with strengths and reach out to the success that’s waiting for you. Life is a game. Play with being optimistic until the last minute. Anything can change.

            Life gives you second chance as well. It is never over with one failure. Always remember that. Be thankful for all the failures you had as you got to learn what not to do again. It’s a blessing to know our obstacles.

“Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so, let us all be thankful.” Buddha

 

So, what are you waiting for? Take a pen and paper and write 5 things you are grateful for. Practice this for 21 days and see what miracles come into your life.

 

Leave a Reply

